World Time Zones travel towel and beach sarong kanga
  Search for City or Place:

09/20/2007, U.S.A., Indiana - "Five counties move to Eastern time", Indianapolis Star

See State of Indiana Time Zone Map with current time and USA Time Zone Map

Five more Indiana counties are moving from Central to Eastern time the U.S. Department of Transportation announced today.

The DOT announced what it calls a final rule moving Daviess, Dubois, Knox, Martin and Pike counties from the Central to the Eastern time zone.

The five, which filed a joint petition for the time zone change, will observe Eastern time beginning Nov. 4, when daylight saving time ends.

At the same time, the Department denied a separate petition from Indiana’s Perry County to also move from the Central to Eastern time zone.

All six counties were among 17 Indiana counties that petitioned DOT in 2005 to switch from Eastern to Central time. In January 2006, the Department allowed eight of the petitioning counties, including the six involved in today’s decision, to move to Central time beginning in April 2006. The six counties later asked to be moved back to Eastern time.

Under the Uniform Time Act of 1966, the secretary of transportation has the authority to set time-zone boundaries and must base decisions on the “convenience of commerce.”

In denying Perry County’s petition, the DOT said that the county appears to be oriented to Central time, and that the petition did not provide sufficient justification to make the change.

Because the change becomes effective when daylight saving time ends and standard time begins, residents of the five counties moving to Eastern time will not need to change their clocks on Nov. 4.

Residents of Perry County, however, will need to move their clocks back one hour on that date. On March 9, 2008, when daylight saving time begins, all Indiana clocks will be moved ahead one hour.

Back to DST News

Advertise | Awards / Media | How to link | Guestbook | About | Privacy | Contact
Copyright © 2011 All rights reserved.