World Time Zones Travel towels and Beach Canga - great for geography and map lovers, world travelers, international employees, flight attendants, sailors and cruisers, globetrotters, overseas citizens and military, eclipse chasers, world backpackers, beach lovers.

   Search for City:

01 July 2014 - "State Duma adopts bill on returning to winter time standard in Russia", ITAR-TASS

"Bill to return Russia 11 time zones and adjust regions to the standard time"

See Russia Time Zone Map

Trans-Sibierian Railway, train conductors with map of time zones WorldTimeZone sarong-kanga
Trans-Sibierian Railway, train conductors with map of time zones

The State Duma has approved in the second and third, the last reading the draft bill on returning to winter time standard.

The law “On computation of time” stipulates that “Moscow standard time corresponds to the third time zone in the national time scale of the Russian Federation UTC (SU) +3 hours”, while currently is used the UTC (SU) +4 hours time standard.

The law bans seasonal time conversions.

The new regulations will come into effect October 26, 2014 at 02:00 Moscow time.

New time zones

The bill sets 11 time zones in Russia. The first one (UTC+2) includes the Kaliningrad region.

The second zone, where the time standard coincides with Moscow time, will be the largest. In particular, it will include Dagestan, Karelia, Moscow, Murmansk and Yaroslavl regions, as well as the city of Moscow, St. Petersburg and Sevastopol.

The third time zone (UTC+4) includes the Republic of Udmurtia and the Samara region. The fourth one (UTC+5) embraces Bashkortostan, Sverdlovsk region and the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug.

The third time zone (UTC+6) includes the Republic of Altai, Altai Territory, Novosibirsk region, as well as Omsk and Tomsk regions. Khakassia and Kemerovo region are among the regions in the sixth time zone (UTC+7).

The UTC+8 time will be in Buryatia, Zabaykalsk Territory and Irkutsk region.

Most district of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) and the Amur region will be included in the eight time zone (UTC+9). The ninth time zone (UTC+10) includes a number of Yakutia’s districts, as well as the Primorsky and Khabarovsk territories.

The tenth time zone (UTC+11) includes some districts of Yakutia and the North Kuril district of the Sakhalin region. Kamchatka territory and the Chukotka Autonomous Okrug are included in the eleventh time zone (UTC+12).

Back to DST News

Advertise | Awards / Media | How to link | Guestbook | About | Privacy | Contact
Copyright © 2014 All rights reserved.